Of Counsel

Legal Notes on Georgia and The South

Maggie Returns

Posted by Maggie on October 15, 2007

I’m back after a longer break than I’d imagined.  I’d planned for the occasional update during my little vacation, but unfortunately my time off coincided with a bunch of illnesses so I was down for the count.

 It’s questionable whether I’ll ever get to that GA Supreme Court opinion update I’ve so wanted to do, but at least I made it back in time for the beginning of the Nichols trial. 

Any defense attorney would have massive concerns about taking a case with these giant financial and constitutional issues to trial.  I was pleased to see today in the AJC that the Judge feels the same way and it’s possible we could have more delays.  (GPDSC, as usual, has no plans to pay any time soon.  Heaven knows that PD money isn’t going for PR work.) 

I’m glad the trial hasn’t started yet because once it has, all I will want is to be inside the courtroom.  I think my ideal job would be trial live-blogger.  Trial attorneys have to absorb and be critical, and having the opportunity to absorb all that information AND get to critique counsel would be great fun.  It’s not quite the same as being in front of a jury, though.

Hopefully a post of substance will arrive in the near future.

Leave a Reply

 
